BBSee I Told You It Was Awesome

by

The Olympics has really ruined tv, I’ll tell you what. Apart from Nip/Tuck, Big Love, SLAT and One Tree Hill everything else is on a break. I realize that four hour-long shows comprises many a person’s whole tv schedule (or even more!) but I am no ordinary tv blogger.

At such lulls I tend to make it up by consuming whole seasons of shows, and nothing goes down easier than British half-hour comedies. At only six or eight episodes per series they’re only a slightly longer commitment than a movie, which is a double-edged sword, since I often end up wanting more. As is the case with The Inbetweeners and (I can already tell, though I’m only 3 episodes in) The Beautiful People. Both are shows about teenagers (my favorite kind of show), misfits in particular (my favorite kind of teenager). The Inbetweeners has the distinction of being the show that made pedophilia surprisingly hilarious.

Even though the characters would be supremely irritating in real life, I find that I’m really rooting for them to procure booze and get laid– they’re much better at the first.

The Beautiful People is, in some ways, a much broader comedy, but a) teen gays, can you argue with that? and b) who couldn’t love a character who won a lifetime’s supply of generic gin by composing the following poem:

Gin gin, where do I begin.
Having you inside me
is like an old friend popping in.

Brilliant.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “BBSee I Told You It Was Awesome”

  1. nikki Says:

    I fucking LOVE The Inbetweeners. I keep asking people if they watch it and am greeted with blank stares. And I keep asking people to watch it, and they’re like “What’s it on?” When I say BBC America, they’re like, “I don’t even know if I get BBC America.”

    Sigh.

  2. gnatalby Says:

    I keep evangelizing it to people, because it’s so amazing.

    It’s gotten to the point that I dream about hanging out with Will.

Leave a Reply

